These Are a Few of My Favourite Things…

when the dog bites. when the bee stings. when I’m feeling sad. I simply remember my favourite things, and then I don’t feel so bad…

Come on. That song was running through your head too when you read the title of this post. Right?

It’s May 29 Just shy of 6 months into this amazing year. 2013, where have you been all my life?

My goal for the 12 months of this year was to come up with ONE THOUSAND gifts. Small things. Big things. Medium things. ANY things that I feel are/were a gift from God that so often go unnoticed or un-thanked. (un-thanked?)

I’m telling you. This has been absolutely life-changing.

It started with my counsellor Suzie, who I should probably get in touch with. She told me in the fall to start keeping a diary of sorts of the top-five best things that happen to me every single day. Even if all it said five times was “I’m breathing today”. Write it down, she said. So I started to write. And somedays, five just aint enough, baby.

Then Linds gave me a book for a belated birthday present. It’s called One Thousand Gifts (surprise surprise). It pushed me even farther. I thought that if I can easily (most days, not all) come up with five things every single day, then why not one thousand for the whole year?

I was sitting in Starbucks having some much-needed me time. I thought about asking the barista for a paper and pen, because once the idea hit me I was anxious to start to writing my list. But then I took out my trusty old iPhone. I use my “notes” app often for grocery stuff and to-do items and lists of baby names , so it made sense to also start a Gifts list. And that’s exactly what I did. My list started off slowly with some mention about a Christmas tree and my parents. But then it started to grow and change and become this thing with which I can’t go through a single day without acknowledging. It’s so awesome.

I love my list. I read it all the time. Sometimes, though not often, I share things on that list as a way to encourage other people.

It’s changed my life.

I am more thankful, more aware of small things, more open to seeing trying times as a way to find beauty in brokenness. I am whole-er than I was 6 months ago.

I’ve contemplated sharing all 500 (so far) things with you guys. But that would take up a lot of “space” in this funny, mind-blowing place we call the ‘net. Maybe closer to the end of this year I will share some with you.

If I could encourage you to start a list too, you might also like it a lot.

When bad things happen in this life, it’s so easy to focus on the negative and the feeling of hopelessness is extremely overwhelming, isn’t it? But when tragedies hit, I like to remember the motto, “Look for the helpers”. There IS goodness and beauty left in this world. We just need to pray that our eyes are opened to it.

~C

 

Leave a Reply

